Top sights and excursions

That city. That lake. Those mountains! Whatever it is that you need from a city, canton Lucerne in Central Switzerland does it better. What is there to do in Lucerne? Visit the most iconic landmark of Lucerne: the Chapel Bridge with its Water Tower. Enjoy a leisurely walk through the old town of Lucerne and marvel at the Lion Monument. Anyone visiting Central Switzerland should have a look at the KKL Culture and Convention Centreand the Jesuit Church, the first large baroque church built in Switzerland.

Printable map of Lucerne

The Lucerne City Map is a map for visitors, guests and tourists. This handy guide shows you the most important places, streets and sights. It contains information about guided city tours and recommendations for your stay in Lucerne. 

The 40-minute trip on the Lucerne City Train gives you an overview of the City of Lucerne and its main attractions.

“Leuchtenstadt” – the city of lights. What is behind this mysterious name?

No other nickname has been quite this puzzling for historians and etymologists. How did Lucerne become the “Leuchtenstadt”, the city of lights? Is the name’s origin religious, botanical, or does it all lead back to a fish? Keep on reading and choose your favourite explanation.

According to some, the name of the city – Lucerne – is derived from the Latin “lucerna”, a term describing a ray of light sent down to Earth by an angel. It hit the precise spot where the “Hofkirche” is located today. Others claim that “Leuchtenstadt” has nothing to do with light at all. It goes back to the local flora and comes from the “lucerne” plant, also known as alfalfa. Alternatively, the name might be derived from the Latin term “luciaria”, which means “a school of pike”. This would suggest that Lucerne used to be a fishing village.

Lucerne Bucket List

We have compiled a bucket list of 20 highlights in and around Lucerne. Your visit is not complete without them! Our Lucerne Bucket List contains the top sights and best destinations for a day trip.

The rainy-day programme

The Lake Lucerne holiday region is a versatile area full of leisure options. Even when the weather doesn’t play along. Our rainy-day programme contains recommendations for day trips as a couple or family, with or without children.

Trips & Activites

The holiday region of Lucerne – Weggis – Vitznau – Rigi is home to Central Switzerland’s most beautiful destinations. It is worth a visit at any time of the year, summer as well as winter. Are you seeking adventure or relaxation? Are you visiting with your children or by yourself? Either way, the City of Lucerne, Lake Lucerne, nearby Mount Pilatus and the Rigi with its impressive views are the perfect place to spend your free time.

Art & Culture

The City of Lucerne hosts a wide range of art exhibitions, cultural events, theatre plays and concerts at the Lucerne Museum of Art, KKL Culture and Convention Centre and the Swiss Museum of Transport. Art aficionados will love the Glacier Garden, Richard Wagner Museum, Bourbaki Panorama, Alpineum and the Rosengart collection, which besides masterpieces by renowned artists such as Picasso, Klee, Miró, Monet and Chagall also showcases the work of local artists from Lucerne. Do you still have some time left? We recommend a play at the Lucerne Theatre (Luzerner Theater).

The Lucerne Museum Card gives you entry to Lucerne’s best museums for two whole days.

Shopping

Shop till you drop! Fashion, accessories, souvenirs, speciality chocolate, jewellery, cosmetics and food: you name it, Lucerne has it. Our Shopping Guide lists all stores in Lucerne and their opening hours. The old town of Lucerne is a pleasant pedestrian zone with plenty of cosy cafés and shops. On rainy days, head to the Mall of Switzerland, which is just a 15-minute drive away. 

We recommend: the three-hour “ModeKultTour” shopping tour will take you to the most exclusive fashion boutiques of Lucerne. Of course, it also features a Prosecco break.

Top-Restaurants

Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern offers two à la carte restaurants, Galerie and Pavillon. They serve local Lucerne delicacies and exotic delights. The VILLA Schweizerhof is our Gault-Millau restaurant overlooking the lake.
 

RESTAURANT GALERIE
RESTAURANT PAVILLON

Or would you rather dine out? Have a look at our Restaurant Guide to find the best restaurants Lucerne has to offer. The holiday region offers everything your heart desires: breakfast, lunch and dinner, on the shore of the lake or right in the old town, comfortable or exclusive, Asian, Italian, typical Swiss and a lot more. Nineteen Lucerne restaurants score more than 250 combined Gault-Millau points.

By the way, the region around Lake Lucerne is the origin of one of the most famous Swiss dishes, Älplermagronen.

Events, nightlife & bars

Browse our events calendar for the Lucerne region or the Hotel Schweizerhof events calendar to find your personal highlight. Our city on the shores of Lake Lucerne has even more to offer than its countless events. It also has a fantastic nightlife – we recommend the Schweizerhof-Bar, Penthouse Rooftop Bar, Das Weisse Schaf, El Cartel, The Blue Bar Lounge and Grand Casino Luzern.

 

 

Livecams & Weather

Livecams

The following webcams are provided by Luzern.com

Webcams Live

Weather

With the following link you will see the weather forcast

Check the weather forecast

Top Sehenswürdigkeiten und Ausflüge

Die Stadt. Der See. Die Berge. Was immer Sie von einer einzigartigen Stadt erwarten, der Kanton Luzern in der Zentralschweiz bietet mehr. Was man in Luzern machen kann? Besichtigen Sie das Wahrzeichen von Luzern: die Kapellbrücke mit dem Wasserturm. Oder schlendern Sie durch die Luzerner Altstadt am Löwendenkmal vorbei. Nicht verpassen sollten Sie bei einem Besuch in der Zentralschweiz auch das Kultur- und Kongresszentrum KKL Luzern und die Jesuitenkirche – der erste grosse, sakrale Barockbau in der Schweiz.

Stadtplan Luzern zum Ausdrucken

Die City Map Luzern ist ein Stadtplan für Besucher, Gäste und Touristen. Auf einer übersichtlichen Karte finden Sie die wichtigsten Plätze, Orte und Strassen, Informationen zu geführten Stadtrundgängen und Tipps für Ihren Aufenthalt in Luzern.

Die 40-minüte Rundfahrt mit dem City Train Luzern gibt Ihnen einen Überblick über die Stadt Luzern und ihre wichtigen Sehenswürdigkeiten.

Die «Leuchtenstadt» Luzern: eine rätselhafte Story

Kein Stadtname gibt Historikern und Namensforschern wohl so viele Rätsel auf wie die «Leuchtenstadt» Luzern. Ist sie nun auf eine Engelsgestalt, die Botanik oder gar einen Fisch zurückzuführen? Lesen Sie weiter und entscheiden Sie selbst, welche Variante Ihnen am wahrscheinlichsten erscheint.

Einigen Überlieferungen zufolge stammt der Stadtname «Luzern» vom lateinischen Wort «Lucerna»: ein Lichtstrahl, den ein Engel auf die Erde herabgesendet hat – genau dort, wo heute die Hofkirche steht. Andere meinen, der Ursprung der «Leuchtenstadt» läge vielmehr in der Pflanzenwelt, genauer gesagt bei der Kleesorte «Luzerne». Zu guter Letzt gibt’s noch die Möglichkeit des lateinischen «Luciaria», was so viel bedeutet wie eine «Ansammlung von Hechten». Demzufolge war Luzern einst ein Fischerdorf.

Bucket List Luzern

In unserer Bucket List haben wir für Sie 20 Highlights in Luzern und Umgebung zusammengestellt, die Sie bei einem Besuch unbedingt gemacht oder erlebt haben müssen. In der Bucket List Luzern finden Sie die Top Sehenswürdigkeiten und die besten Ausflugsziele.

Schlecht-Wetter-Programm

Die Ferienregion am Vierwaldstättersee birgt eine Vielzahl an Freizeitmöglichkeiten. Auch bei schlechter Wettervorhersage und Regen. Im Schlecht-Wetter-Programm finden Sie Tipps für Ausflüge zu zweit, als Familie, mit oder ohne Kinder.

Ausflüge & Aktivitäten

Die Ferienregion Luzern – Weggis – Vitznau – Rigi bietet im Sommer und Winter die schönsten Ausflugsziele in der Zentralschweiz. Ob Adventure oder Erholung, mit Kindern oder ohne: Die Stadt Luzern, der Vierwaldstättersee, der nahegelegene Hausberg Pilatus und die Rigi mit ihrer imposanten Aussicht bieten die besten Freizeitmöglichkeiten.

Kunst & Kultur

Im Kunstmuseum Luzern, Kultur- und Kongresszentrum KKL Luzern oder dem Verkehrshaus Schweiz bietet die Stadt Luzern verschiedenste Veranstaltungen in den Bereichen Kunst, Kultur, Theater und Musik. Auf Kunst treffen Sie in Luzern beispielsweise im Gletschergarten, dem Richard Wagner Museum, dem Bourbaki Panorama, Alpineum  oder der Sammlung Rosengart. Hier finden Sie nicht nur Werke von namhaften Malern wie Picasso, Klee, Miró, Monet und Chagall, sondern auch Kunstausstellung von Luzerner Künstlern. Haben Sie noch etwas Zeit? Dann besuchen Sie doch eine Aufführung im Luzerner Theater.

Mit dem Luzerner Museums-Pass können Sie während 2 Tagen die bekanntesten Museen in der Stadt Luzern einmal besuchen.

Shopping

Von Mode über Accessoires, Souvenirs & Schokolade-Spezialitäten, Schmuck und Beauty bis zu Lebensmitteln: Im Shoppingführer finden Sie alle Geschäfte in Luzern inklusive Öffnungszeiten. Die verkehrsfreie Altstadt in Luzern mit ihren vielen gemütlichen Cafés ist die ideale Shopping-Strasse. Einkaufen bei schlechtem Wetter können Sie 15 Autominuten entfernt – in der Mall of Switzerland

Kleiner Tipp: Die Shopping-Tour «ModeKultTour» führt Sie in 3 Stunden zu den exklusivsten Geschäften der Luzerner Modewelt – Inklusive «Prosecco-Halt».

Top-Restaurants

Im Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern erwarten Sie die zwei à-la-carte-Restaurants Galerie und Pavillon mit Luzerner Spezialitäten sowie exotischen Gerichten und die VILLA Schweizerhof – unser Gault-Millau-Restaurant direkt am See.

RESTAURANT GALERIE
RESTAURANT PAVILLON

Möchten Sie lieber auswärts essen? Im Restaurantführer finden Sie die besten Restaurants in Luzern. Die Ferienregion bietet alles: Frühstück, Lunch oder Dinner, direkt am See oder in der Altstadt, gemütlich oder speziell, asiatisch, italienisch, typische Schweizer-Spezialitäten und noch mehr. 19 Restaurants bieten in Luzern zusammen mehr als 250 Gault-Millau-Punkte.

Übrigens: Die Region am Vierwaldstättersee ist die Erfinderin eines der bekanntesten Schweizer Gerichte – den Älplermagronen.

Veranstaltungen, Nightlife & Bars

Stöbern Sie im Veranstaltungskalender der Region Luzern oder dem Eventkalender vom Hotel Schweizerhof und finden Sie Ihr persönliches Highlight. Doch die Stadt am Vierwaldstättersee ist nicht nur berühmt für ihre zahlreichen Anlässe, sondern auch für Ihr Nachtleben – etwa in der Schweizerhof-Bar, der Penthouse-Roof-Top-Bar, dem Weissen Schaf, El Cartel, The Blue Bar Lounge oder im Grand Casino Luzern.

Livecams & Wetter

Livecams

Die folgenden Webcams werden von  luzern.com zur Verfügung gestellt.

Webcams Anschauen

Wetter

Unter folgendem Link finden Sie die Wetterprognose für Luzern.

Wetterprognose Anschauen