Awarded 13 Gault-Millau points

With a keen eye for detail and a lot of love for his craft, our chef Marcel Ineichen serves up regional delicacies with his team at VILLA Schweizerhof. Located in a quiet park with magnificent views of Lake Lucerne, the VILLA is a perfect place for birthday parties, weddings, baptisms or short meetings. Find out more about bookings, overnight stays and the facilities at VILLA Schweizerhof.

By the way, hotel guests have access to a free shuttle between Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern and VILLA Schweizerhof.

 

 

 

Opening hours

Lunch:
Wednesday to Sunday from 11:30 am
Dinner:
Wednesday to Saturday from 6:00 pm (dinner)

Phone +41 (0)41 370 11 66
Website: www.villa-schweizerhof.ch
genuss@villa-schweizerhof.ch

Book your table here

The Villa Hausermatte– looking back on an eventful history

In 1860 the Zingg family acquired a plot of land in a sought-after location on the shores of Lake Lucerne and erected a mansion on it – the VILLA. With the 20th century fast approaching – and with it rumours that the Gotthard Railway might install its terminus in the immediate vicinity – the Hauser family purchased the mansion with a view to erecting a magnificently stylish hotel in its stead. It was not to be: a merger of railway companies in 1909 put paid to the vision of a railway station in the Hausermatte quarter of the town – and of a hotel; the area instead became famous around the world for its equestrian sporting events. The Concours Hippique International was first held here in 1924, and the international riding elite used to gather here until 19


The VILLA was extended eastwards in 1920 under the aegis of the well-known Lucerne-born architect Arnold Bringolf-Hauser, after which the Hauser family used it as its summer residence.

The municipal authorities and the Hauser family spent 70 years on and off discussing the possibility of providing a lakeside promenade. With the 800th anniversary of the town looming in 1978, the two sides finally reached an amicable settlement, resulting in the building of the promenade along the water’s edge using backfill material. As testimony to the garden’s former lakeside location, the charming wooden boathouse – now land-locked – delights passers-by to this day.

Shortly thereafter the Hausers were allowed to build premium rental apartments on some of their land together with car parking, a restaurant, a swimming pool and a physiotherapy practice. The first apartments were occupied in 1981 and the restaurant began taking orders. The VILLA in those days already had three gorgeous reception rooms on the first floor benefiting from lake views, as well as two guest rooms.

Die EssVILLA am See

In der VILLA Schweizerhof servieren Küchenchef Marcel Ineichen und sein Team Regionales mit viel Liebe zum Detail. Die VILLA in ruhiger Parklage und kraftgebender Aussicht am Vierwaldstättersee ist zudem der ideale Ort für Geburtstagsfeiern, Hochzeiten, Taufen oder kleinere Meetings. Erfahren Sie mehr zu Reservationen, Übernachtungen und den Räumlichkeiten in der VILLA Schweizerhof.

Übrigens: Als Hotelgast bringen wir Sie mit dem kostenlosen Shuttle direkt zur VILLA Schweizerhof und wieder zurück.

Öffnungszeiten

Mittagessen:
Mittwoch bis Sonntag ab 11.30 Uhr
Abendessen:
Mittwoch bis Samstag ab 18.00 Uhr

Telefon +41 (0)41 370 11 66
Webseite: www.villa-schweizerhof.ch
genuss@villa-schweizerhof.ch

Buchen Sie Ihren Tisch hier

Die VILLA Hausermatte –
erfüllt von einer bewegten Geschichte

Es war um das Jahr 1860, als das Grundstück an privilegierter Lage, direkt am Ufer des Vierwaldstättersees, von der Familie Zingg erworben und darauf ein Herrenhaus erbaut wurde. Als dann das 20. Jahrhundert vor der Tür stand – und mit ihm der in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft geplante Gotthard-Bahnhof, erstand die Familie Hauser dieses herrschaftliche Anwesen, um hier ein stil- und prachtvolles Hotel zu erbauen. Durch die Fusion der damaligen Bahngesellschaften im Jahr 1909 wurde allerdings nicht nur Bahnhof, sondern auch die Vision vom Hotel obsolet und fortan wurde die Hausermatte als Austragungsort von renommierten Reitsportanlässen auf der ganzen Welt bekannt. Ab 1924 auch als Austragungsort des Concours Hippique International. Bis 1976 traf sich hier die internationale Reitsportelite. 

1920 wurde die VILLA unter der Ägide des bekannten Luzerner Architekten Arnold Bringolf-Hauser an seiner Ostseite erweitert und in der Folge von der Familie Hauser auch als Sommersitz benutzt. 

Während rund 70 Jahren gab ein von der Stadt geplanter Uferweg immer wieder Anlass zu Diskussionen zwischen der Besitzerfamilie und den Stadtbehörden. Als dann im Jahr 1978 die 800-Jahr-Feier der Stadt Luzern bevorstand, hatte man sich schliesslich gütlich einigen können. Der aufgeschüttete Seeuferweg wurde eröffnet. Als Zeuge des ehemals direkten Seeanstosses erfreut noch heute das hölzerne und schöne Bootshaus Spaziergänger und Flaneure. 

Kurz darauf erhielt die Familie Hauser die Genehmigung, auf dem Gelände eine Wohnüberbauung mit Mietwohnungen im gehobenen Segment, Einstellhallen, Restaurant, Hallenbad und Physiopraxis zu errichten. 1981 wurden die ersten Wohnungen bezogen und das Restaurant öffnete seine Türen. Schon damals verfügte die VILLA auf der ersten Etage über drei wunderschöne Räume mit Seeblick sowie zwei Gästezimmer.